20
Jun
09

Weekend Notes

Some Notes:

(1) I made a website to list my publications. It has links and things. I also made a section on the sidebar of this page for contributor sites, so I encourage all of you who have personal projects you want to promote to list them there. Anyways, mine is www.bensegal.blogspot.com

(2) I purchased Sam Lipsyte’s ‘Venus Drive’ a few months ago, read the first story, and put the book away because I was too overwhelmed with thesis-work for pleasure reading. Now I am being irresponsible and decided to do some pleasure reading in spite of the increased urgency regarding completion of my actual academic reading. Anyways, I am really psyched on it.

Lipsyte, more than many members of the Gordon Lish constellation, writes gritty, believable narratives. However, his stories rise above the genre of ‘masculine fuck-up tales’ because of the startling way that Lipsyte uses language. This collection is one of the first narrative-realist-literary books I’ve read in a very long time that doesn’t feel stale or conventional, that seems to take seriously the material possibilities of language as more than ornamentation but instead as a central element of the constitution of experience.

‘Venus Drive’ was released by Open City, a press perhaps best known for releasing David Berman’s ‘Actual Air’. Open City’s page for the book is HERE and contains a description, reviews, ordering information, and a sample story.

(3) Saw ‘Up’ in 3-d. I love 3-d. During the movie I teared up several times because it is the kind of emotionally hyper-manipulative film I love to see. I know it is not really related at all, but I imagined the old man in the movie to be Jacques Roubaud and the trip with the house to be his writing the books ‘Great Fire of London’ and ‘Some Thing Black’. Obviously they are two totally different things.

0 Responses to “Weekend Notes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

