15
Jun
09

my friends do the best things: daniel buchler

The following three pieces are by Daniel Buchler, an artist based out of Philadelphia.  He provides us with a brief description of each:

Behind3

The first one is called Behind Enemy Lines.  I did it while I was still in school–2004.  It has a lot to do with how fun I remember it being to twist the torsos on old J.I. Joes and snap the bands connecting their legs.  Its the same kind of mutilation.  Maybe it’s got something to do with how desensitized people are to this kind of violence, because it’s theatrically stylized.  Yet I still felt sorry for some of these figures–brutalized in spite of their plastic inanimate being.

River3

Second one is a piece I submitted at the last minute to the 2008 Absolutely Abstract show at the Philadelphia Sketch Club.  I got a bit of feedback from someone who submitted before, was accepted, and was criticized by her peers for using representational objects.  “Don’t worry if you don’t get in.”  I got a congratulatory call a week later–Honorable Mention. This one’s called River.

Blue2

This third one is the first time I’ve used linen instead of cotton duck.  I also drew on the canvas here, which I’ve rarely if ever done before–at least the entire composition.  The mugs here are recurring ideas called Blue Boy and Golden Child.  (I half stole that from Seinfeld’s laundry episode where his favorite sweater was called Golden Boy–the first shirt he wore from a freshly washed load.)  Groupings of mugs and bottles are fairly prominent in my stuff.  Its the closest I get to portraiture.  Humanized mugs and de-humanized plastic army men…

0 Responses to “my friends do the best things: daniel buchler”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

