09
Mar
09

A Justification for the Hermetic State of Julius Barnes

When going away, to this place, she asked what I wanted to do with my life. I replied that I plan to keep it in a pile until it is needed, to keep it inside until exterior circumstances improve. Or to try to. To clamp hands over my mouth with grasshoppers trapped inside. Eyes closed, of course. The stingy blind man, hoarding his life. Is that not noble? Ignoble? What to do when it’s all gone? Recharged by others, doubtless I could be. But for how long? A battery can only take so many charges! And then what, when all of my life has grown out through my scalp, when nothing stirs within me? I say I shall have wished I’d expended less of it, less of my life. It is strange that others do not remark that I am full of life. Who would be more full of life than he who has used so little of it? Have I not an extensive reserve? I owe it to my future self to remain in this place, away from others. I owe it to him to subsist until the world is a better one, not filled with wretched persons and their abhorrent business. I am a fine wine, stored in this cave, waiting until all else is ready to enjoy me. How I wonder what things will be like when I am finished with this hibernation! Will I finally get my flying car? Yes, I think I shall. Ah, and so the truth comes out – you’ve wrested the truth right from my soul. My motive is revealed. It is true. I cannot live in a world devoid of the flying cars I had so hoped would already exist. The flying cars we were all promised. When I am through with this time, this hermetic period, I shall pilot my flying car with the life of a man half my age and no one will question why I did what I did. It is for that future that I remain here, in this cave, waiting for word of automobiles with wings. And if that word never comes? Then so be it. I would rather expire while in here than attempt to live out there, in such a nightmare. At least I’ll never be stuck in traffic inside this cave.

2 Responses to “A Justification for the Hermetic State of Julius Barnes”


  1. 1 johuat
    March 9, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    We were given ipods and life expectancy. Hopefully just to hold us over, and not in the stead of flying cars.

  2. 2 butttub
    March 10, 2009 at 1:18 am

    This reminded me of a story about a man who loved caves. I am linking it below.

    http://www.laminationcolony.com/CAVES/


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

