03
Jan
11

Food Blogging

Ralph’s restaurant in Philadelphia is the oldest family-owned Italian restaurant in the country. It is in a small room with half-tiled walls and a lot of great old wallpaper and the most tables per square foot of any restaurant I know. This makes it a strange echo chamber gossip room.

I learned all about a ski vacation, I saw cowboys or would-be cowboys, I heard about wedding preparations and also the Eagles game. It was a box of voices.

I ate lasagna. It was as big as my face and served in a bowl.

Ralph’s only takes cash, just like when they started over 100 years ago. The recipes, apparently, also date from 1900.

What you should do is take out some money and a tape recorder and make a record there. I would like a record of quiet humming at Ralph’s while waiting for food. I would like to listen to that record.

‘Ralph’ is also a slang term meaning to vomit. For example: I ate so much Ralph’s I nearly ralphed.


1 Response to “Food Blogging”


  1. 1 Tree
    January 13, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I like Philadelphia. I like old things. So rare their survival is!

    I have never eaten something with a “Italy” tag on it.

    我喜欢费城。


Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

