01
Feb
10

Ghost Island Conference and Exhibition

I would like to hold a conference and exhibition as an extension of Ghost Island’s multidisciplinary artistic/philosophic/community-building project. This will be an opportunity both to share our work and plan our goals for the future of the Ghost Island project.

There will be a series of panels, performances, and presentations relating to the individual scholarly and artistic practices of Ghost Island friends and members, dedicated space for dialogues about Ghost Island and our various projects, and lots of potlucking.

The conference will take place over the span of a weekend (date tba). The evenings will culminate in dance parties.

Please contact me if you are interested in presenting, attending, performing, or helping to organize the event. I hope to hold it in the Sping or early Summer.

9 Responses to “Ghost Island Conference and Exhibition”


  1. 1 johuat
    February 1, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I’m down. I call dibs on science and math and engineering. Anyone want to do any co-lecturing? Words and Numbers? Man and Machine? Protons and Prose?

  2. 2 devavivarma
    February 3, 2010 at 3:24 am

    i’m down. jim, i could do a brief numbers/ geometry/ music thing with you– ratios of tuning series and lattices of primes

  3. 3 johuat
    February 3, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    That sounds cool.

    You thinking Sieve of Eratosthenes?

  4. 4 deweydecimal
    February 3, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I like the thinking a lot. I would not be able to attend anything until the summer.

    But really, I think step one is getting people more committed to regular posting on GI. What about getting 5 or 7 people to agree to a weekly posting?

  5. 5 Jeff
    February 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    I am going to second Dallas on this one. But also I think the conference would be really great.

  6. 6 Todd
    February 4, 2010 at 4:44 am

    how about a west coast premiere

  7. 7 deweydecimal
    February 4, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Okay so I’m down for 1 day a week. Sounds like Jeff is. What about Ben? Todd? Others? We can figure out who has what day later.

    Wouldn’t have to be a major philosophical treatise every Tuesday or something…Just a guaranteed posting of at least a paragraph or at least a picture…

  8. 8 Luckycloud
    February 8, 2010 at 12:58 am

    I would commit to a day a week as well.

    And would love to do a panel or presentation or something. Assuming I’ll be back in the US by then. Maybe my noise/music could fit in with what Jim and Avi are doing.

    Or I could present that book I’m working on. Either way I would love if I can. We should make this a twice-yearly thing.

  9. 9 butttub
    February 8, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    i will commit to posting. and i will be sending emails around to organize events.


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

