09
Jan
10

Proofs

If he says that he loves her and she says she loves him and neither of them are lying or joking, he and she love each other. It is not possible to be mistaken about loving someone because loving is a linguistic and not material category. I love you is a performative utterance.

If I love you is a performative utterance and I am neither joking nor lying then when I tell you I love you it means I love you and is in fact proof that I love you and when you say that you love me it is the same thing.

Love exists and acts on the world insofar as it is called upon and believed in. Therefor love is God or a God or at least has the same ontologically provable status as God.

1 Response to “Proofs”


  1. 1 johuat
    January 11, 2010 at 5:13 am

    I fail to see why it’s not possible to be mistaken about a linguistic category, or about a performative utterance. Are you saying that linguistic statements or conditions are completely clear? Are they always objectively recognizable?


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

